National Animal Ethics Advisory Committee (NAEAC)

This committee has been established under the Animal Welfare Act to provide independent advice to the Minister for Primary Industries about:

  • ethical and animal welfare issues relating to the use of animals in research, testing and teaching
  • recommendations on the restrictions of use of non-human hominids
  • advice to Animal Ethics Committees
  • the development and review of codes of ethical conduct

A full list of NAEAC’s functions can be found under section 63 (offsite link to of the Animal Welfare Act 1999. NAEAC holds four quarterly general meetings each year and special meetings when required. Meeting summaries can be found at: (offsite link to

In addition, NAEAC produces an annual report and these can be found at:


Members of NAEAC are chosen on the basis of their expertise. They may be nominated by a relevant organisation but do not represent the nominating organisation on the committee. Forthcoming vacancies will also be advertised on MPI’s website at (offsite link to and at (offsite link to (Boards and Governance).

The Minister for Primary Industries appoints each member, and the committee comprises:

  • A Chairperson;
  • A maximum of nine other members.

There are a range of skills needed to be a member of NAEAC and knowledge and experience is needed in:

  • veterinary science;
  • medical science;
  • biological science;
  • commercial use of animals;
  • ethical standards and conduct in respect of animals;
  • education issues, including the use of animals in schools;
  • manipulation of animals in research, testing and teaching;
  • animal welfare advocacy;
  • any other area that the Minister considers relevant.

The committee's current membership is as follows:

  • Dr Karen Booth BSc BVSc CertVR MACVSc, Manager Regulatory Affairs, Zoetis New Zealand Ltd (nominated by Agcarm Inc)
  • Ms Therese (Terry) M Burrell BSc (Hons), Dip Tchg, Learning Area Leader, Science, Onslow College (nominated by the Ministry of Education)
  • Mr Stephen G Cairns BCom (VPM), Dip Grad, Strategic Development Manager, Arrow International (NZ) Ltd (nominated by Local Government New Zealand)
  • Professor Craig B Johnson BVSc PhD, Cert VA DVA DipECVA, Professor of Veterinary Neurophysiology, Institute of Veterinary, Animal and Biomedical Sciences, Massey University (nominated by the New Zealand Veterinary Association)
  • Dr Peter D Larsen BSc (Hons), PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Surgery and Anaesthesia, University of Otago, Wellington (nominated by the Royal Society of New Zealand)
  • Mr Graeme A Nind MNZM JP (nominated by the Royal New Zealand Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals)
  • Dr Malcolm D Tingle BSc (Hons) PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Clinical Pharmacology, The University of Auckland (nominated by the Health Research Council of New Zealand)
  • Mr Bruce Warburton MSc, Scientist (nominated by Landcare Research New Zealand Ltd)
  • Dr Virginia M Williams BVSc, MACVSc, Dip Prof Ethics, Animal Welfare Consultant (Independent Chairperson) 

To find out more about the use of animals in research.

Page last updated: 6 June 2014