100 years of New Zealand Forestry 1919-2019

1919 Establishment of the State Forest Service



Inaugural staff of the State Forest Service

1920



Leon MacIntosh Ellis appointed first Director of Forests **1921** Forests Act enacted under William Massey's government

This significant step established formal forestry research, education, forest survey and management, and commercial timber procedures under the newly formed State Forest Service

1923

Mary Sutherland, the first woman forester, joined the State Forest Service



The Royal Forest and Bird Protection Society founded



1925

Canterbury School of Forestry opened



1927

Institute of Foresters founded



1931 Ellis' target

of 300,000 acres of plantation is achieved 4 years earlier than expected



Women workers at the Whakarewarewa nursery planting seedlings

1935

Over 400,000 acres of largely radiata pine planted under work relief schemes of the Great Depression



1939

State sawmill built at Waipa



Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand

NZ Forest Products produces first fibreboard from radiata pine

1941

1946

Fire destroys nearly 33,000 acres of privately owned forest near Taupo resulting in the Forests and Rural Fires Act 1947



1947

National Forest Survey of all indigenous forests in New Zealand carried out by NZ Forest Service



1949

Forests Act becomes legislation



1955

First newsprint produced from radiata pine in New Zealand

1956

Noxious Animals Act makes NZ Forest Service responsible for control of wild animals



1958

Radiata pine sawlogs exported to Japan

1962

Forestry Encouragment Act authorises financial aid to farmers seeking to establish managed plantation forests on private land

1965

New Zealand Australia Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) established to enhance forestry trade between New Zealand and Australia



1967

Tarawera Forest Act established a precedent for tree planting on Māori land by Māori, Crown and private partners. 147,000 ha planted by 2010



1969

First Forestry Development Conference held included work modelling log/timber supply and, in conjunction with demand forecasts, became the basis for government setting new planting goals (start of the second planting boom)



1970

Canterbury School of Forestry reopens after 34 years

1972

The Forest Service National Forestry Planning model established regional forest planting targets for New Zealand 1976

New Zealand Forest Products plywood mill began production



1979

Radiata Pine Task Force established



1987

NZ Forest Service disbanded. The Forestry Corporation, Department of Conservation and Ministry of Forestry formed. Department of Conservation

takes control of indigenous state forests





1989

Crown Forest
Rental Trust set
up under the
Crown Forest
Assets Act to
support Treaty
claims



1990

Nature Heritage Fund and Ngā Whenua Rāhui established to help achieve objective of the Indigenous Forestry policy 1991

The NZ Forest Accord, signed by 4 industry organisations and 10 conservation groups, recognised the importance of commercial plantation forestry as an economic activity and alternative to the depletion of natural forest 1992

NZ Forest Research Institute (now Scion) was set up as a crown research institute



1993

Forest Act amendments introduced timber harvest restrictions and sustainable management provisions for privately-owned indigenous forests

1998



Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Forestry join to form Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry. New Zealand signs the Kyoto



2000

Forest (West Coast) Accord Act passed halting logging on public land on the West Coast by 2002



2008

Climate Change Response (Emissions Trading) Amendment Act 2008 brought forestry into the Emissions Trading Scheme

2012

Ministry for Primary Industries formed as a result of a merger including forestry

Protocol



2017

The One Billion
Trees Programme is
announced with the
target of planting
1 billion trees by 2028



2018

Te Uru Rakau formed as a business unit of the Ministry for Primary Industries



